Personal tools
You are here: Home Educational Technology Faculty Committee on Educational Technology

Faculty Committee on Educational Technology



The Faculty Committee on Educational Technology was formed in the fall of 2001.
The Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and the Vice Provost for Information Technology charge the FCET to:
  • Assist in the continued development of the campus-wide vision and implementation plan for Information Technology (IT) in undergraduate and graduate instruction.
  • Make recommendations to the Information Technology Planning Board (ITPB) on key strategic and policy IT initiatives that impact undergraduate and graduate instructio.
  • Make recommendations and oversee the implementation of key infrastructure capability and practices in the use of IT in instruction.
  • Advise the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education, the Deans, and the Vice Provost IT on matters related to IT in instruction.
  • Evaluate effectiveness of instructional IT services and develop strategies to support continuous improvement.


The Faculty Committee on Educational Technology consists of faculty representatives from each of the four divisions of the College and Schools that provide undergraduate instruction, one Assistant Dean, one computing Director, and the Director, of Teaching & Learning Technologies at the Office of Instructional Development.

The members for 2012-2013 are:


Paul Barber (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology)

Kathleen Bawn (Political Science)

Nicolas Christou (Statistics)

Dana Cuff (Architecture & Urban Design)

Nenita Domingo (Asian Languages & Cultures)

Steven Hardinger (Chemistry & Biochemistry)

Elizabeth Landaw (Division of Social Sciences)

Michelle Lew (Office of Instructional Development)

Larry Loeher (Office of Instructional Development)

Christopher S. Lynch (Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering)

John Mamer (Policy, Anderson School of Management), Chair

William McDonald (Theater, Film & Television)

Debra Pires (Life Sciences Core Curriculum)

Annelie Rugg (CCC Representative)

Lisa Snyder (Office of Information Technology)

Nicole Vestal (USAC Representative)

Joan Waugh (History)

Willeke Wendrich (Near Eastern Languages & Cultures)


The past members for 2001-2012 are:


Julie Austin, HSEAS Computing, 2009-2011

Jackson Beatty, Psychology, 2001 – 2006

Robert Boyd, Anthropology, 2009-2012

Troy Carter, Physics & Astronomy, 2006-2009

Michael Curry, Geography, 2001 – 2006

Jan de Leeuw, Statistics, 2001- 2002

Rebecca Emigh, Sociology, 2001-2002

Mario Gerla, Computer Science, 2002-2007

Rob Gould, Statistics, 2002-2007

William Grisham, Psychology, 2009-2012

Tim Groeling, Speech & Communication Studies, 2005-2008

Reem Hanna-Harwell, Division of Humanities, 2008-2012

Kimberly Jansma, French & Francophone Studies, 2008-2011

Lianna Johnson, Life Sciences Core Curriculum, 2006-2009

Bill Kaiser, Electrical Engineering, 2005-2006

Patricia Keating, Linguistics, 2004-2008

Roger Kendall, Ethnomusicology, 2002-2007

Jessica Kianmahd, USAC Student Representative, 2011-2012

Robin Liggett, Architecture and Urban Design/Planning, 2007-2010

Marc Mayerson, Division of Social Sciences, 2001-2007

Warren Mori, Physics and Astronomy, 2001 – 2006

Christopher Mott, English, 2004-2007

Steve Nelson, Art History, 2003 – 2004

Patricia Phelps, Physiological Sciences, 2002 – 2006

Russell Poldrack, Psychology, 2006-2009

Janice Reiff, History, 2006-2008, 2010-2012

Vincent Riggs, School of Public Affairs Computing, 2006-2009

Ruth Sabean, Office of Information Technology,2001-2007

Ali Sayed, Electrical Engineering, 2002 – 2005

Russell Schuh, Linguistics, 2001 – 2003

James Schultz, Germanic Languages, 2007-2010

Robert Simons, Microbiology, 2001 – 2002

David Smallberg, Computer Science, HSSEAS, 2007-2010

Francis Steen, Speech & Communication Studies, 2008-2011

Timothy Tangerlini, Scandinavian Section, 2001 – 2004

John Tormey, Physiology, School of Medicine, 2006-2009

Joseph Vaughan,Humanities Computing, 2001 – 2006

Ray Walker, Institute of Physics and Planetary Physics, 2007-2010

Min Zhou, Sociology, 2002 - 2005



View Meeting Information

Document Actions
  • Print this
  • ShareThis